Robert Raskin Student Competition 2021

We are pleased to announce the awardees of the Robert Raskin Student Competition 2021. The session was held on April 9th at 11:10 am (PDT), fully virtual.

1st place (tied):
Yue Lin, The Ohio State University, “Traffic density estimation from camera feeds using deep learning and high accuracy regions”.
Arif Masrur, Pennsylvania State University, “Multi-scale machine learning for interpreting spatiotemporally heterogeneous drivers of geographic events”.

3rd place:
Ahmad Ilderim Tokey, University of Toledo “Mobility During COVID-19 in the USA: Its Spatiotemporal Pattern and Associations with COVID Cases”.

Congratulations to all the finalists and thank you for your participation!

Call for Participation

We are pleased to announce the “2021 Robert Raskin Student Competition”, which will take place fully online during the AAG Annual Meeting, April 7 – April 11, 2021. This competition is sponsored by the AAG Cyberinfrastructure Specialty Group (CISG). The competition aims to:

• Promote research in topics related to geospatial cyberinfrastructure (CI)/CyberGIS, such as high performance/distributed computing, spatial analysis, geospatial data management, processing, mapping, visualization, analysis and mining, spatial web and mobile services etc.

• Encourage spatial thinking and the development of geospatial CI/CyberGIS in colleges and universities.

• Inspire curiosity about geographic patterns, spatial computing, and CI for students, researchers, and the broader public.

Important Dates:

11/06/2020: Abstract (~500 words) due to Dr. Alex Hohl ( or Dr. Ran Tao (

11/11/2020: Finalists notification

03/01/2021: Extended abstract submission deadline

04/07/2021 – 04/11/2021: Final Presentations and announcing winners

The awards will be determined immediately following the special presentation session. The results of the competition will be published in the AAG Newsletter and the CISG newsletter, as well as on the specialty group’s web page and social media outlets. The awards committee reserves the right to not offer such prizes if the papers are not of sufficiently high quality.

Competition Rules

1. Each participant needs to submit an abstract through the AAG conference submission system. Finalists should submit an extended abstract (2,500 words limit). Other supplementary materials, such as a URL to a live website, can also be included in the submission.

2. Competition participants must be enrolled full-time at a community college or a university. All submissions must be the original work of the entrant.

3. Recommended application areas include, but are not limited to disaster management, environmental/social justice, public health issues, transportation, crime, climate, and urban planning.

4. Each entry can be submitted by one student or one student group (no more than FIVE people in each group). Maximum of one entry per student. Entries must be designed and implemented by the student(s).

5. Students who participated in previous years’ competition can compete again, but entries must be different from earlier submissions.

6. As the judge panels, the CISG board members will select up to SIX entries. Judges will consider a variety of criteria, including but not limited to topics, techniques, design and writing. Students may be asked to supply documentation proving their full-time student status.

7. The finalists will be invited to give an oral presentation via ZOOM during the AAG meeting. The finalists must register (virtual or in-person) for the 2021 AAG meeting at their own expense. They are encouraged to attend the conference and must give a presentation in the CISG Student Competition Session during the AAG meeting. Additional travel support may be available and will be announced through our competition websites.

Questions or submission

Please contact Dr. Alex Hohl ( or Dr. Ran Tao ( for questions or submission details.