Robert Raskin Student Competition 2020

1st place:

Alexander Michaels, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. “Particle swarm optimization for calibration in spatially explicit agent-based modeling”

2nd place:

Yun Li, George Mason University. “A spark and density-based algorithm for clustering multivariate geospatial raster data”

3rd place:

Jiaxin Du, New Jersey Institute of Technology. “Interactive visual analytics for sparse trajectory data”

4th place (tied):

Kejin Cui, George Mason University. “A comprehensive analysis for spatiotemporal metadata in NASA EARTHDATA portal based on data relevancy and intelligent algorithms”

Xiaoyi Li, Zhikun Han, Zhiqian Wang, Zhongying Wang, and Feilong Wu, University of Southern California. “Regional environmental cognition: the spatial-temporal semantic analysis of different responses about environmental topics on social media”

Congratulations to all the finalists and thank you for your participation!

Call for Participation

We are pleased to announce the “2020 Robert Raskin Student Competition“, which will take place during the AAG Annual Meeting in Denver, CO, April 6 – April 10, 2020. This competition is sponsored by the AAG Cyberinfrastructure Specialty Group (CISG). The competition aims to:

  • Promote research in topics related to geospatial cyberinfrastructure (CI)/CyberGIS, such as high performance/distributed computing, spatial analysis, geospatial data management, processing, mapping, visualization, analysis and mining, spatial web and mobile services etc.
  • Encourage spatial thinking and the development of geospatial CI/CyberGIS in colleges and universities.
  • Inspire curiosity about geographic patterns, spatial computing, and CI for students, researchers, and the broader public.

Important Dates:

  • 11/05/2019: Abstract (~500 words) due to Dr. Zhenlong Li ( or Dr. Alexander Hohl (
  • 11/10/2019: Finalists notification
  • 03/01/2020: Extended abstract submission deadline
  • 04/06/2020 – 04/10/2020: Presenting and announcing winners

The prizes of $400 for the 1st place, $200 for the 2nd place and $100 for the 3rd place will be determined immediately following the special presentation session. The results of the competition will be published in the AAG Newsletter and the GISG newsletter, as well as on the specialty group’s web page. The awards committee reserves the right to not offer such prizes if the papers are not of sufficiently high quality.

Competition Rules

  1. Each participant needs to submit an abstract through the AAG conference submission system. Finalists should submit an extended abstract (2,500 words limit). Other supplementary materials, such as a URL to a live website, can also be included in the submission.
  2. Competition participants must be enrolled full-time at a community college or a university. All submissions must be the original work of the entrant.
  3. Recommended application areas include, but are not limited to disaster management, public health issues, transportation, crime, climate, and urban planning.
  4. Each entry can be submitted by one student or one student group (no more than FIVE people in each group). Maximum of one entry per student. Entries must be designed and implemented by the student(s).
  5. Students who participated in previous years’ competition can attend again, but entries must be different from earlier submissions.
  6. As the judge panels, the CISG board members will select up to SIX entries. Judges will consider a variety of criteria, including but not limited to topics, techniques, design and writing. Students may be asked to supply documentation proving their full-time student status.
  7. The finalists will be invited to give an oral presentation at the AAG meeting. The finalists must register for the 2020 AAG meeting at their own expense. They are encouraged to attend the conference and must give a presentation in the CISG Student Competition Session during the AAG meeting. Additional travel support may be available and will be announced through CISG website. 

Questions or submission:
Please contact Dr. Zhenlong Li (  or Dr. Alexander Hohl ( for questions or submission details.