Robert Raskin Student Competition 2019

1st lace:
Yuhao Kang, University of Wisconsin-Madison. “Human Emotions at Different Places: A Ranking of Happiest Tourist Attractions around the World Based on Facial Expressions and Spatial Clustering Analysis”.

2nd place:
Xiao Huang, University of South Carolina, “Identifying disaster related social media for rapid response: a visual-textual fused convolutional neural network architecture”.

3rd place:
Jianlong Wang, Wuhan University, “Data-driven visual analytics of human mobility patterns using massive smart card data”.

Travel Awards:

Fangzheng Lu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, “Vector-Based Drainage Direction Analysis for High-Resolution Digital Elevation Models”

Xuantong Wang, University of Denver, “Optimizing machine learning methods for trajectory data pattern extraction and traffic predictions”

Call for Participation

We are pleased to announce the “2019 Robert Raskin Student Competition“, which will take place during the AAG Annual Meeting in Washington, DC April 3 – April 7, 2019. This competition is sponsored by the AAG Cyberinfrastructure Specialty Group (CISG). The competition aims to:

  1. Promote research in topics related to cyberinfrastructure (CI), such as high performance/distributed computing, spatial data management, processing, mapping, visualization, analysis and mining, spatial web and mobile services.
  2. Encourage spatial thinking and the development of geospatial CI in colleges and universities.
  3. Inspire curiosity about geographic patterns, geo-computing, and CI for students and the broader public.


10/20/2018: Abstract (~500 words) due to Dr. Jing Li ( or Dr. Zhenlong Li ( zhenlong@

10/ 25/ 2018: Invitation notification

03/01/2019:  Extended abstract submission deadline

04/05/2019 – 04/09/2019: Presenting and announcing winners

The prizes of $500 for the 1st place, $200 for the 2nd place and $100 for the 3rd place will be determined immediately following the special presentation session. The results of the competition will be published in the AAG Newsletter and the GISSSG newsletter, as well as on the specialty group’s web page. The awards committee reserves the right to not offer such prizes if the papers are not of sufficiently high quality.

Competition Rules

  1. Each participant needs to submit an abstract through the AAG conference submission system. Finalists should submit an extended abstract (2,500 words limit). Other supplementary materials, such as a URL to a live website, can also be included in the submission.
  2. Competition participants must be enrolled full-time at a community college or a university. All submissions must be the original work of the entrant.
  3. Recommended application areas include, but are not limited to: crime, public health issues, transportation, climate, urban planning, land use/cover change, and disasters of all kinds.
  4. Each entry can be submitted by one student or one student group (no more than FIVE people in each group). Maximum of one entry per student. Entries must be designed and implemented by the student(s).
  5. Students who participated in previous years’ competition can attend again, but entries must be different from earlier submissions.
  6. As the judge panels, the CISG board members will select up to SIX entries. Judges will consider a variety of criteria, including but not limited to topics, techniques, design and writing. Students may be asked to supply documentation proving their full-time student status.
  7. The finalists will be invited to give an oral presentation at the AAG meeting. The finalists must register for the 2019 AAG meeting at their own expense. They are encouraged to attend the conference and must give a presentation in the CISG Student Competition Panel Session during the AAG meeting. Additional travel support may be available and will be announced through our competition websites.

Questions or submission:
Please contact Jing Li ( or Zhenlong Li ( for questions or submission details